Okanogan County Public Hospital District #3 MID VALLEY HOSPITAL AND CLINIC SPECIAL BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING April 18, 2024 3:45 p.m.

Family Medical Building Conference Room C/D and via Teams

MINUTES

Ρ

Ρ

Ρ

Ρ

- Richard Johnson, Ed.D, Chair
- Ellen Delaney, Vice-Chair
- P Evon LaGrou, Member

STAFF:

- P John White, CEO
- P Holly Stanley, CFO
- P Carol Neely, RN, Director of Nursing
- P Randy Coffell, HR Director
 - Clinic Administrator
- P Chris Wagar, COO
- P Lisa Eaton, Administration Office Manager

P Dr. Jennifer Thill, CMO
Marketing/PR Director
Pat McKinnon, RN, Quality Director
P Dr. King, MD, Chief of Staff
Drake Jerald, Controller

Rebecca Christoph, RN, Secretary

Debi Clark, Member

GUESTS: Josh Gewirtz, PA Cheryl Pfeifer Jonathon Umana Kristy Terzi Ranebeaux Randall Kim Freel Dr. James Wallace

P = Present, E = Excused, A = Absent, T = Teams

1. Meeting was called to order at 3:45 p.m. by Chair Dr. Richard Johnson.

- 2. Open Public Comment Session, CEO Succession, duration at the discretion of the Board:
 - a. Introduction of attendees.
 - b. Thank you to John White, CEO, for his contributions.
 - c. Comments from Guest(s) include, but not limited to, vetting a qualified candidate whose character will fit with the team, an individual who will collaborate with other healthcare providers in the community.
- 3. <u>CEO Succession Planning</u>:
 - a. Chairman Dr. Richard Johnson explains the proposed process as discussed by the Board. Senior Leadership will lead the Hospital under an interim shared Co-CEO structure. Holly Stanley, CFO and Chris Wagar, COO will be appointed Co-CEO's and Chris Wagar will be appointed the District Superintendent.
 - b. Commissioner Evon LaGrou provides insight into prior CEO searches and the decision to hire an outside Recruiting firm to assist with the process.
 - c. Commissioner Debi Clark shared her past experience in executive searches and is prepared to assist where needed.
- 4. <u>Executive Session</u>: The Board convened Executive Session as permitted by RCW section cited on the meeting Agenda as follows: RCW 42.30.110(1) Executive sessions "Nothing contained in this chapter may be construed to prevent a governing body from holding an executive session during a regular or special meeting: (g) To evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment or to review the performance of a public employee. However, subject to RCW 42.30.140(4), discussion by a governing body of salaries, wages, and other conditions of employment to be generally applied within the agency shall occur in a meeting open to the public, and when a governing body elects to take final action hiring, setting the salary of an individual employee or class of employees, or discharging or disciplining an employee, that action shall be taken in a meeting open to the public."

Commissioner Evon LaGrou moved to convene Executive Session for a period of 30 minutes. Commissioner Rebecca Christoph seconded the motion which passed unanimously without further discussion.

a. Executive Session began at 4:11 p.m. Holly Stanley, CFO and Chris Wagar, COO to be present.

Okanogan County Public Hospital District #3 Minutes, SPECIAL BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING April 18, 2024 Page 3

5. <u>Return to Public Session:</u>

Return to Public Session at 4:42 p.m.

6. Action as required on CEO Succession Planning:

Commissioner Evon LaGrou moved to accept CEO John White's Resignation. Commissioner Ellen Delaney seconded the motion which passed unanimously without further discussion.

Commissioner Evon LaGrou made a motion to direct Board Chair Richard Johnson, together with Superintendent John White, to draft a resolution to be considered by the Board at its Regular Meeting of April 25, 2024, for the following purposes:

- Appointing Chief Operating Officer Christina Wagar, the District Superintendent on a date to be determined, and fixing her compensation; and
- Appointing as Interim Co-Chief Executive Officers, in addition to their current duties, Chief Financial Officer Holly Stanley and Chief Operating Officer Christina Wagar, at a date to be determined, and fixing CFO Holly Stanley's compensation as well.

Commissioner Debi Clark seconded the motion which passed unanimously without further discussion.

7. <u>Adjournment</u>:

Commissioner Evon LaGrou moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Debi Clark seconded the motion which passed unanimously without further discussion.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

* Signature Page to Follow*

Okanogan County Public Hospital District #3 Minutes, SPECIAL BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING April 18, 2024 Page 4

ADOPTED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS this 25th day of April 2024, the following Commissioners being present and voting in favor of the resolution:

Chair, Dr. Richard Johnson

Vice Chairperson, Ellen Delane

R. Christo

Secretary, Rebecca Christoph

'IN

Commissioner

missioner

Special MVH Board Meeting Minutes, April 18,2024 Page 4 4